little moments.

My muscles are aching after yesterday’s exhaustingly dizzifying (literally. FY and I were seeing stars in the last 5min) tennis session.

Still, it feels good to get a workout. What I need now is a nice shoulder massage. Owwww.

A random spawn of some unidentified neighbour dropped by to say hi to Topsy yesterday. In my mind, my first reaction was “Helllll what is this annoying miniature human doing asking for Topsy when I wanted to sit in the nice evening breeze and fa dai? Now I have to go forcibly pull the dog out of my Dad’s cabin!”

But pull my dog out I did. The seemingly unappreciative kid was not content with patting him through the gate (yes sorry I am quite unfriendly towards children), and asked plaintively “Can I come in?”

So with a huge sigh of exasperation I got the keys out and let him in. At which point I didn’t really know what to do. I am one of those people whose first impulse upon meeting children is to stick out my hand and go, “Hi. I’m Rachel. You are?”

I am, however, not stupid enough to follow through with this impulse. (Ha.) I was therefore very glad when the kid started babbling about his dog, and his life in general. He was quite an intelligent and engaging 10-year-old actually. I didn’t have to switch wavelengths to talk to him. Quite a refreshing experience really!

If only children were born as 10-year-olds, without all that screaming and crying and googoogaga. Oh well. U can’t have your cake and eat it!

6 Comments

Filed under life, twists and turns of fate

6 responses to “little moments.

  1. FY

    rach! it did not feel good. we had like cheesy pizzas, oily pasta, creamy cakes and kopped ppl’s ice cream after seeing those stars.

    HAHHAHAA your lack of maternal instincts amuses me.

    • yes but at least we saw those stars before eating all that! XD can u imagine if we didn’t?? or rather, can you imagine if I didn’t? the earth’d be so heavy we’d be plummeting towards the sun this very instant. wahahahahh.

      and, eating that stuff doesn’t ease muscle ache!

  2. yux

    but 10 is when they are old enough to seriously irritate adults but too young to be mature about issues! I’d rather they were born 4 years old – that’s the cutest haha.

  3. Sare

    Hey, your recent adjectives subjected upon innocent children are worsening! Is this some primal instinct against motherhood?!?!!?

    Sigh. In other news. I am not that happy at my new job. =(

Leave a Reply

