hmm.

Check out this video about Oprah interviewing the families of the FLDS polygamous ranch.

I first knew of this Oprah interview from adverts on Hallmark channel, and at first I was quite horrified by the snippets I saw. But after watching this video, I’m not too sure. Not the polygamy part, but their way of life. It’s an ethically and morally sound way of life – not to mention nutritionally sound. I mean, they produce their own cheese, meat, vegetables etc! I think when we’ve all died from the heretofore unknown effects of GE food and artificial flavouring (maybe that’s the Apocalypse, you know, instead of a great big divine BOOM it’s a slow, self-inflicted genetic disaster that creeps up on us like a thief in the night. grins.). Their children are taught important virtues like sharing, and the value of hard work. They’re shielded also from the materialism and narcissism that characterises today’s world. Take this mother’s comments on the time their children were removed from their custody and placed with foster parents:

One mother said her children “had so many toys thrown at them. Toys tend to teach children to be selfish. We make it real and useful to them. Gloria loves to do the dishes. If you cultivate that, then they’re happy.

Okay, maybe the causal connection’s a little screwed, but can you name me one kid in mainstream society who “loves to do the dishes”?! I sure as hell do not! Their way of life seems to hark back to the heroic ages, and it’s moving, somehow. It’s so far removed from the me-me-me mentality so rampant in society today that it’s appealing.

If I had to choose between letting my kid grow up in mainstream New York versus this ranch (minus the polygamy, which might work for them but certainly won’t work for me), I’m not sure that mainstream New York would be the obvious choice. I’m not a fan of the steady diet of gospel music or lack of fashion (I must admit fashion is one of the greatest vices in the world today, however), but I’m also not sold on the insatiable, narcissistic mainstream society that capitalises on vice and is driven by the most base and banal urges of human nature.

2 Comments

Filed under musings

2 responses to “hmm.

  1. Caits

    Hmm. I like their hair though. =)

    Shiying is interested in their lives too!….

    • rachel

      she is! lolzz. yeah their hair is quite cool. they’re not allowed to cut their hair though – that’s a bit creepy. hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

